Reunions Reunions Reunions

Yesterday my roommate from camp summer, Laura, and I embarked on an adventure to the Philadelphia area.  On our way to visit camp friends, we stopped by to see a girl, Katrina, who has left Wordsworth.  When we arrived she tackled me with a huge hug, it was so good to see her!  When we got to my car I apologized for the mess in the back seat, I had over 100 books donated for the girls; there was absolutely no room.  So we started to move them into the trunk as Katrina goes, “Laura, her car is cleaner than the last time I saw her!”  We all laughed a whole lot.

We eventually made room, and got in the car to drive to Katrina’s apartment.  She was having such difficultly giving me directions, she couldn’t remember which way was left and which way was right.  So instead, she said make a Becca (I was in the drivers seat) if we had to turn left and make a Laura, if we had to turn right.  At one point she said, make a left, but I went right…whoops.  And Katrina goes, “Becca, what am I going to do with you?  When I find out, Laura I’ll let you know”  We could not stop giggling as I proceeded to make a U turn. 

When we got to Katrina’s house I gave her a flower pot (the ones we have been making) and a book Girls Like Us to read.  She got so excited and we pinky promised that if she read my book I would read her favorite book.  She showed us around her apartment as we shared stories. 

To our surprise another girl who has left Wordsworth contacted Katrina, so we went and picked her up.  We took the girls out to dinner at McDonalds.  Before eating we all held hands and prayed for our food.  It was awesome.  Around the table we talked a lot about life and the things we are experiencing.  I asked the girls if they have been writing, and they said no.  I reminded them of the power of writing and how much it has helped them in the past.  By the end of the conversation, we all agreed they should start creating poetry again.

Katrina was encouraging her friend to keep praying and trusting in God through her struggles.  I smile and go, “hey Katrina, look at you trusting in God and what not” she responds, “What can I say, you are rubbing off on me” Laura’s face lit up as we both realized what power the love of Christ can do. I drove the girls home and we hugged and took pictures together.  We promised we would see again soon and that when we do I expect to hear some poetry.

It was so encouraging to see how well Katrina is doing and the incredible progress she has made.  She is working toward her dreams and setting goals to get there.  I am so proud of her endurance and joyful spirit.  I cannot wait to see her again!  Laura and I left Philly and journeyed onto our camp reunion.  We talked all about the girls and how much things have recently progressed.  It’s been a blessing to see my camp friends this weekend.  Considering we spend all summer serving our campers, we cannot resist serving others when we are all together.  Needless to say, tonight we are making paper flowers and starting Christmas presents for the girls.  How lucky am I to have friends who love the girls just as much as I do!?  Here are some pictures of our service filled Saturday night!

 

The amount you can accomplish when you have two Rebeccas!Image

And there goes Laura and Kyra making Christmas presents!Image

 

 

And this is a picture of Laura, we belive in you Laura, we do.Image

 

We even got Kate to craft!!!Image

Leave a comment