Their Poetry Says It All

The past few weeks visiting the girls has proven to be tough. As I get to know them more and more, the more they share their stories the tougher it becomes to sit and listen. My heart breaks more and more and I find myself struggling to put what I feel in words. The stories from the past few weeks have become too personal to share, but below is a poem written by one of our weekly girls, I think this can provide some insight to what has been going on…

“I Can”
You can love me
but only I can make me happy
You can teach me
but only I can do the learning
You can lead me
but only I can walk the path
You can promote me
but I have to succeed
You can coach me
but i have to win the game
You can even pity me
but I have to bear the sorrow
For the Gift of Love
is not a food that feeds me
It is the sunshine
that nourishes that which I must finally harvest for myself
So if you love me
don’t just sing me your song
Teach me to sing
for when I am alone
I will need the melody.

One thought on “Their Poetry Says It All

Leave a comment